When the Ukrainian Women's Association of Canada (UWAC) as formed in 1926, one of its aims was to preserve the embroidery, weaving and folk dress of the early Ukrainian settlers. UWAC branches began collecting artifacts and holding spring exhibits of Ukrainian folk crafts. The first Ukrainian museum in Canada was established in 1936 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, by the Ukrainian Women's Association of Canada, and was opened to the public in 1941 at the Peter Mohyla Institute. At the national UWAC convention held in Winnipeg on December 23-25, 1944, it was decided that branch museums should be established in Toronto and Edmonton. As a result, the first Ukrainian museum in Alberta was created: The Ukrainian Museum of Canada, Alberta Branch (UMCAB).

It is hard to imagine Alberta today without the influence of the Ukrainian immigrants of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, who helped pioneer our province. The UMCAB displays some of the beautiful folk artifacts from that time, such as blouses, rugs, embroidered towels, ceramic art and toys, as well as tools and instruments that the settlers used, which depict different aspects of the life of this hard-working and resilient culture.

We preserve these artifacts to strengthen our connection to our homeland and its traditions. The Ukrainian settlers brought with them their native crafts, techniques, and talents which have developed through the centuries and even up to today. Canada helped our people find a place to keep our own traditions that may have disappeared and helps us continue our traditions in a multicultural sphere. The past is our guide to our future; by retaining our history and culture, Ukrainian Canadians are always able rediscover their past, using it to build a stronger future.

To visit the museum, please see our Visitor Information page.

UMC Alberta Branch Executive - 2016–2018

PositionHeld By
Past President Eugene Topolnisky
President Elaine Verchomin Harasymiw
1st Vice President Sylvia Gray 
2nd Vice President Donna Kowalishin
Secretary Shirley Wozimirsky
Treasurer Nadia Opyr
Membership Convenor Eileen Yewchuk
Gift Shop Convenor Donna Kowalishin
Publicity Convenor Vacant
Acquisitions Convenor  Larysa Chomiak
Members At Large Sandy Sawchuk
Iris Olinek
Larysa Chomiak
Cathie Gordey
Marion Ostapchuk
Lorna Stefaniuk
Kathy Buchanan
Branch Representatives Sylvia Gray (St. Anthony)
Betty Corlett (St. Elia)
Donna Kowalishin (St. John)
Shirley Wozimirsky (St. Michael)
Johanna Dzenick (St. Andrew)

Past Presidents of the UMC Alberta Branch

1945-1953 Emma Verchomin
1954-1957 Doris Yanda
1958 Kalyna Zaseybida
1959 Anna Melnyk
1960-1966 Olia Semchuk
1967-1972 Anastasia Seniw
1973-1975 Emma Verchomin
1976-1979 Anastasia Seniw
1980 Sofia Skrypnyk
1981-1982 Nadia Bodnar
1983-1986 Anastasia Seniw
1987 Mary Lazaruk
1988-1990 Nadia Bodnar
1991-1995 Chester Kuc
1996 Elaine Harasymiw
1997 Luba Yaremchuk
1998-2000 Oksana Ensslen
2001-2002 Nadia Hymanyk
2003-2004 Anastasia Seniw
2005-2008 Zonia Lazarowich
2009 Eugene Topolnisky
2010-2018 Elaine Harasymiw